Tyger and Other Tales

Tyger and Other Tales header image
· No Comments · -->

DAVID KRONEMYER: In 1990 I recorded an album with Krysia Kristianne and Leslie Chew called “Tyger and Other Tales.” It was distributed internationally by JVC Records, and sold reasonably well, particularly in Europe and Asia. It was what I would characterize as a “concept album” – English romantic poetry set to music. Although I don’t have much of a taste for that particular genre, now. It was something I had wanted to do for a long time, probably ever since high school. Some of the music had been swirling around in my head for years.

Here are the tracks:

1.  Tyger – Blake
2.  She Walks in Beauty – Byron
3.  Ozymandias – Shelley
4.  La Belle Dame sans Merci – Keats
5.  Complaint of the Absence of Her Lover being upon the Sea – Howard
6.  Daffodils – Wordsworth
7.  The Passionate Shepherd to His Love – Marlowe
8.  Love – Coleridge
9.  North – (instrumental)
10.  Wuthering Heights – Brontë
11.  The Lady of Shalott – Tennyson

Leslie and I auditioned several singers, including Annie Haslam (Renaissance) and Sonja Kristina (Curved Air). For various reasons – mainly, logistical improbability – none of them worked out. We still were looking for that “ice princess of British rock” sound. I knew Steve Chapman from having worked previously with Al Stewart and Peter White. Steve recommended Krysia, who was amazing. Unfortunately, she recently passed away.

Now that JVC Records is defunct, the album is unavailable, and for that matter there is no more music business, I am happy to post some of the better tracks from the album here as .mp3 files.

I would like to thank my wife Judy, my son Andrew, and my daughter Lauren for their inspiration in making this project possible.